Darts experience

How's your arrers going?
Buccellati

Darts experience

Post by Buccellati » Sun Dec 11, 2022 8:37 pm

Hi all,

I've been playing darts for about 1.5 years now. I've gone from a 30-ish average up to a 75-80 average now during practice.

Since May I have been playing a few games on the DT and games in WDF-related tournaments. (never played a match against someone else in person before then-- done a few online darts matches but am not a fan - I won a few games though) - there's not really a darts community in my area, so it's quite impossible to play against others nearby (within 40 miles). So all I do are PDC DT games and WDF-related tournaments.

As you can understand, or not, I was (still am) very nervous when playing a game.

Although the draw hasn't been lucky for me at times, in all those games I have played since I started playing matches (about 15) I haven't averaged more than in the mid-60s. And I have never won a game. (15-0 loss streak lol) Got close in a few games (last leg decider lost), but other than that; nothing (and I got whitewashed a few times (by people averaging mid-60s to mid-70s)).

I keep averaging between 55 and 65 during those matches. Now, I don't blame all of this on my nerves as that's something that will always be a part of the game, but I am wondering whether I am good enough to actually compete in those competitions. I'm not sure what can be done.

What do you all think?

Is there something that can be done? Do I need to acknowledge I'm not good enough? Do I need to do certain practice games? Or just keep going and hope I'll have a lucky draw at one point, win that game, and just hope I'll be able to win more games from then?

Thanks!
Last edited by Buccellati on Sun Dec 11, 2022 8:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

The Ginge Reaper

Re: Darts experience

Post by The Ginge Reaper » Sun Dec 11, 2022 8:38 pm

Play DBG.